Wedding Bells in the Grampians

I’ve just had an amazing weekend this weekend.  The family and I got a chance to spend a night in the beautiful Halls Gap in the Grampians, Victoria.   A favourite place to visit for not only my family and I but for a lot of visitors to the north west of our state.  And no it’s not my fave place because of Coolas Ice Creamery but that certainly is a draw card for my family and me.

No this weekend Mum, Dad, Nanna and I were invited to go to a friends wedding on Saturday in Halls Gap so to save having to drive back to Horsham at stupid O’clock in the morning we got motel rooms at the Pinnacle Holiday Lodge for the night.  Nanna had room 12 and Mum, Dad, my siblings Sheedie, Benaud, Hicks and Chloe and visiting friend Jasper had lucky number 13.

The wedding wasn’t until 4pm so once we had checked in we had a bit of time to relax and put our paws/feet up and Nanna even bought in some tasty TimTams and doughnuts for snacks.

I think I shall lay right here....What's wrong Sheedie?  Why do you want me to move??

I think I shall lay right here….What’s wrong Sheedie? Why do you want me to move??

Hicks, Chloe and Benaud got spoilt with doughnuts.

Hicks, Chloe and Benaud got spoilt with doughnuts.

Pretty soon it was nearly 3pm before we knew it so everyone was getting ready and it was a quick rush out the door because even though the wedding didn’t start until 4pm, Nanna had to drop some flowers off for the bridal party and Dad needed to find a nice shady place at the Grampians Pioneer Cottages which was the area the ceremony was going to be held as it has an amazing backdrop of the mountains in the background which makes for great photos.

The Ceremony was lovely and included a Traditional Celtic Handfasting which was performed by Licensed Celebrant and Priestess…(not to mention very good friend of Mum) Lauren Kay from Handfastings and Medieval Weddings which was beautifully done.

Top: Jasper and Me at the Hotel room all dressed and ready to go. Jasper and me at the area for the Ceremony. Bottom: The wedding in progress. After the ceremony, heading back for the reception in Halls Gap.

Top: Jasper and Me at the Hotel room all dressed and ready to go.
Jasper and me at the area for the Ceremony.
Bottom: The wedding in progress.
After the ceremony, heading back for the reception in Halls Gap.

After the ceremony and while the bridal party was getting the photos taken we had a chance to head back to the motel room for a quick rest, change of clothes and a drink of water before heading around to the Reception which was being held at the Quarry Restaurant which luckily enough was a very quick walk from our rooms so no more driving needed!

Top: Jasper and I getting our photo next to the wedding cake and two Quirkybears named A and T made by Phoenixphyre Dreams. I find Dad's beer unattended on the table and of course look after it for him! Bottom: Speeches from the Bridal Table. Food has arrived.

Top: Jasper and I getting our photo next to the wedding cake and two Quirkybears named A and T made by Phoenixphyre Dreams.
I find Dad’s beer unattended on the table and of course look after it for him!
Bottom: Speeches from the Bridal Table.
Food has arrived.

Wedding Bears: A. Quirkybear and T. Quirkybear Made by Phoenixphyre Dreams. (link at end of entry)

Wedding Bears:
A. Quirkybear and T. Quirkybear
Made by Phoenixphyre Dreams. (link at end of entry)

It was a lot of Fun and I got to meet a lot of people, got lots of cuddles from the Bridesmaids (YAY!) and ate some amazingly tasting Wedding cake.  I even got to meet some wonderful people Mum went to High school with and hasn’t seen since ’98 when she left the Northern Territory so that was pretty pawesome also!

Top: Photo time with the beautiful bridesmaid Shannon and bride Tanith! Mum and me with the Bride Tanith. Bottom:  Doing my best to run off with one of the bridesmaid bouquets...I love yellow flowers! Dad and me with the Groom Aaron!

Top: Photo time with the beautiful bridesmaid Shannon and bride Tanith!
Mum and me with the Bride Tanith.
Bottom: Doing my best to run off with one of the bridesmaid bouquets…I love yellow flowers!
Dad and me with the Groom Aaron!

It was a great day topped of by a wonderful night and we had a lovely time and were tired by the time we made it back to our hotel room.  Jasper had already passed out and gone to bed early with Nanna.

Our room was very nice, we’ll be very happy to stay there again and will be requesting room 13 again if we do get the chance to stay in Halls Gap over night even if the bed was a little bit like sleeping on a hard plank but Mum says she has something that she can lay on top of it next time and make it more comfortable.   But with that being the only niggle we do totally recommend the Pinnacle for a place to stay.

We all wish the bride and groom the very best wishes for their future together and thank you for inviting this little travelling bear and visiting friend Jasper along to share in your special day!   I had a blast!!

*****Wedding bears seen on table and next to wedding cake were handmade by Phoenixphyre Dreams please feel free to check them out for all your Quirkybear needs.*****

About ozziequirkybear

World traveler and Mascot for Phoenixphyre Dreams. Loves exploring my own country and this great wide world with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

